Add To Favorites

Groups, individuals honored for role in community safety

Lima News - 10/5/2022

Oct. 5—LIMA — Thirteen community members or groups were honored as 2022 Safe Community Heroes Wednesday for their dedication to maintaining a safe community.

According to a press release, more people were honored than in previous years due to a larger number of nominees than in years past.

The following individuals or groups were honored for their service:

Emergency Medical Services

—B Shift, for their response to a large crash involving a semi-truck on the afternoon of Sept. 4.

Fire Safety

—Perry Township Fire Chief Justin Roberts, for his teaching and commitment to fire safety at Perry schools.

Traffic Safety

—Trooper Kenton Gibson, for his OVI enforcement.

—Sergeant Scott Ludeke, for his impaired driving enforcement.


—Lima Director of Public Works Kirk Niemayer, for pedestrian and traffic signal improvements at the Main Street and High Street intersection, and a mid-block crosswalk at the 300 block of North Main Street.

Youth Safety

—Violence Prevention Program at Crime Victim Services, for its education on relationship violence prevention.

—Soldiers of Honor, for its boxing program that mentors at-risk youth.

Children's Safety

—Firefighter and Paramedic Emily Bowsher, for her role in Lima Fire's child passenger safety program.

—The Autism Life Center, for its Autism Safety Kit provided free to families in which at least one member has autism.

—Patrol Officer Eric Mericle, for his D.A.R.E. education to Lima's youth.

Outstanding Citizen

—Allen Oakwood Correction Institution Deputy Warden Corey Foster, for his efforts to reduce crime and recidivism in Ohio.

—Disabled Veterans Outreach Program Specialist Rob Cornett, for the career services he provides to veterans.

—Lima Municipal Treatment Court Judge Tammie Hursh, for her role in rehabilitation services provided to people on bond.


(c)2022 The Lima News (Lima, Ohio)

Visit The Lima News (Lima, Ohio) at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.